top of page
Learn More
Blog: Welcome
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBreanna Anderson

Discoverers Club Update!

It has been a while since my last post and I have been up to a lot!


My after-school programing in Donnelly really hit its stride in January. I chose a theme of Geology for the month of January and focused on Glaciers and Earthquakes!


I have learned that the best method of engaging students during an after-school program is to utilize activity based learning. These kids have been sitting and learning all day and the last thing they want to do afterschool is sit and learn some more, they want to have fun! I have found the most success by creating lesson plans that have a fun, engaging activity at their core.


Here is a snap shot of the two days in January that I facilitated the Discoverers Club with Donnelly Elementary Schools 3rd-5th graders.


Earthquakes!


I started this lesson asking a broad question: "what do you all know about earth quakes." I found out quickly that many of my students had connections to Alaska and were very interested in the recent destruction there caused by a massive earthquake. We used my laptop to look at pictures and discuss the dangers of earthquakes.


I followed this by talking about how earthquakes occur. In order to introduce the students to the topic of plate tectonics it was important for them to understand the layers that exist below the earth’s crust. I used my favorite tool to demonstrate this...the peanut M&M!



This cross-section of an m&m simply demonstrates the different layers beneath the earths thin crust


Once they were familiar with the concept that our crust is floating on molten magma I was able to use sponges and a tub of water to demonstrate the different ways that tectonic plates move, and which type of movement causes earthquakes.


From this point we circled back to the idea that earthquakes can be very destructive. I told them that I had created an earthquake simulator (OUT OF JELLO!!!!!) and challenged them to build an earthquake proof structure using toothpicks and mini marshmallows.



It was important that the students followed the engineering process as they began this design challenge. Everyone was required to sketch their design on a piece of paper, and explain why they thought it would be able to withstand an earthquake, before they were given their supplies.

















A tray of Jello was used to simulate the jiggling and vibrating effect of an actual earthquake. Once the students tested their design they were able to go back to the drawing board and adjust their models based on the outcome of their test.





And of course afterword we enjoyed some delicious cherry jello....from a fresh pan!


Glaciers!


The next geology topic covered in January were glaciers! Glaciers play a huge role in the local geology here and it’s a great way to get students thinking about their home in terms of science.


To teach about glacial movement we used flour to simulate out earth’s surface, and we used homemade glaciers to scrape and form the land. I made the glaciers ahead of time using ice cube trays filled with water and gravel. Adding the gravel is a great way to talk about glacial erratic’s because as the student’s glacier melts chunks of rock are left behind.


In order to demonstrate how slowly glaciers move and to have fun we made Glacier Gak!





It definitely took me a few classes to figure out the best way to engage with students in an after school setting, but I am very pleased with how far we've come. . I even had a student say to me "I wish after school program was longer!" If that's not a sign of success I don't know what is!



Stay tuned to read about Februarys Discoverers club. The theme is Natural Disasters! There are definitely more engineering challenges in the works!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page