top of page
Learn More
Blog: Welcome
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBreanna Anderson

"Take chances, make mistakes, get messy!"

So I was totally channelling my inner Ms. Frizzle during this particular STEAM after-school program.


I wanted to study density as well as chemical reactions with an activity called “snow storm in a jar”





Each student was given a jar and were instructed to add different liquids to it in a particular order. We used white paint, water, mineral oil, and glitter (yes glitter! I am one of those teachers that embraces the use of glitter!!!!!!). I had the students put lids on their jars, shake them, and then make observations. I then had them let the liquids settle and separate and again make observations. I facilitated a discussion about what density is and how it explains why the liquids in their jars separated.







Now comes the fun part. I had this idea to add Alka-Seltzer tablets in the jars and watch the reaction cause the liquids to mix. Sounds neat right?! well it was, but not how I was expecting. I had them add 2 tablets and chaos followed!!!




The best part about doing science with kiddos is giving them the space to make mistakes, to make messes, and to learn from all of it. After careful consideration one of my students decided that two aka seltzer tablets was probably too many, and ya know what he was probably right.





The other best part was the look of terror on my chaperones faces as the chaos ensued.


This was a FUN class!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page